Logo
EMCO Remote Shutdown Documentation Remote Shutdown Overview | Download | Purchase

Remote Shutdown Server Management

Remote Shutdown application consists of the client and server parts to provide you with the ability of executing scheduled tasks while there is no active user session or the application user interface is not running. So, the client application is launched to perform enumeration, configure tasks execution and results review, and the server application is running together with the operating system. When the client application is launched it automatically tries to connect to the Remote Shutdown server.

Add Manually

Connect

The Connect button should be used to connect to the Remote Shutdown server application after the client was disconnected. When the client is connected it is replaced with the Disconnect button to be used to disconnect from the server.

Control

Control

The Control button from the Server Management group of the Application Ribbon page should be used to manage the server application state. You can change an account used by the server application as long as start and stop the server using the sub-menu of this button.

Using the service management features you can disconnect from the server, switch an account the server is logged on as and manage its state.

Tip

Please note that it is strongly recommended for the Remote Shutdown Server to be logged on as a user account. When the service is logged on as local system, it will fail to connect to remote Machines unless the credentials are provided in the alternate credentials settings of the application. When using an user account, it is used by default to connect to remote Machines, though it is still possible to provide alternate credentials to connect to different domains within the application.

As it was already said, the client application automatically connects to the server on its startup, so when Remote Shutdown is started it is ready for work. But you can disconnect from the server to perform maintenance using the Disconnect button from the Server Management group of the Application Ribbon page. When disconnected, the Disconnect button is replaced with the Connect one to reconnect to the server.

The most important of the service management features is an ability of changing an account used by the server. This account is used for performing network enumeration and operating remote Machines if the alternate credentials are not specified, though it is still possible to provide alternate credentials to connect to different domains within the application. You can switch the account using the Switch Account menu item from the Control button drop-down.

The one of the service management features is an ability to start and stop the Remote Shutdown server for maintenance. These options are also available from the Control button drop-down.

The elevation of privileges is required for each of the actions available from the Control button drop-down, so you may see the UAC prompt when running the application on Machines that have Microsoft Windows Vista or higher installed.