Logo
EMCO Remote Shutdown Documentation Remote Shutdown Overview | Download | Purchase

Sessions Management on Remote Machines

With Remote Shutdown, on remote Machines, you can perform such user session management operations as sign out and session lock. These operations can be launched immediately, or you can create a preconfigured tasks to perform such operations, or you can schedule preconfigured tasks to be executed once or on a regular basis – this section will show you how to reach all these goals.

Performing Sign Out and Lock Session

The process of performing sign out and lock operations is absolutely the same, the only difference is the initiated operation type. Let us take a closer look at this process using the sign out operation as a reference.

Sign Out

Sign Out

The Sign Out button from the Session Ribbon group on the Remote Actions page should be used to sign out from all user sessions on the remote Machines selected in the Network view or the All Machines view.

Lock Session

Lock Session

The Lock Session button from the Session Ribbon group on the Remote Actions page should be used to lock the sessions on the remote Machines selected in the Network view or the All Machines view.

To sign out from user sessions on remote Machines, use the Sign Out button from the Session Ribbon group on the Remote Actions page. If the Network or the All Machines view is active, the selected Machines and Collections are automatically added to the operation's Machine Queue. This action is also available from the Session group from the Home Ribbon page and the corresponding group in pop-up menus and on toolbars of the Network and All Machines views. The wizard will appear on the screen and guide you through the operation configuration process Pic 1.

Configuring a sign out operation

Pic 1. Configuring a sign out operation

When configuring a sign out operation, you can specify if the applications should be forced to close, define if you would like to wait for a specific period of time before signing users out, choose if the notification should be displayed to a remote user and if it is allowed to cancel the sign out process. The next step is to define a set of Machines to operate. For the information on configuring a scope of Machines, refer to the Defining Machines to Operate section of this document. Once you are done with configuring the operation, press Finish to proceed. The sign out operation will start automatically, and as soon as it is completed, you will be able to see the execution results in the Execution Results view.

Creating a new Sign Out or Lock Session Task

If you do not want to perform sign out or session lock on remote Machines right now, with Remote Shutdown you can create a preconfigured task to perform such session management operations in future, any time you want. To create a new Sign Out task for further execution, you should choose the New Task > Sign Out item from the Tasks area pop-up menu. For the Lock Session tasks, use the New Task > Lock Session item. Alternatively you can use the New Task button from the Tasks area toolbar or the Regular Task button from the New Ribbon group on the Management contextual page from the Tasks and Schedule Tools category. The New Task wizard will appear on the screen and guide you through the process of creating a new task. Once you are done with configuring the task, press Create to create it. The newly created task will be added to the Tasks area. A created task can be executed manually any time using the Run menu item from the Tasks area or scheduled for automatic execution. Remote Shutdown will store the results for all runs of this task, and you can review all of them in the Execution Results view.

Performing Sign Out and Lock Session on schedule

As it has already been mentioned, with Remote Shutdown you can run a preconfigured session management task any time you want. However, manual task execution may not be convenient for you since in such a case you would always have to remember when you should perform this or that task. The scheduling engine built into Remote Shutdown can always keep this in mind for you, so that you can concentrate on your other everyday tasks.

To schedule a new Sign Out task, you should choose the Scheduled Task > Sign Out item from the New Ribbon group on the Home page. This option is also available in the Scheduling area pop-up menu and on the toolbar. Alternatively, you can select the Machines you want to operate in the Network or the All Machines view and choose the New > Scheduled Sign Out Task menu item from the pop-up menu to initialize the Machine Queue with the selected Machines. For scheduling a new Lock Session task, use the Scheduled Task > Lock Session item from the New Ribbon group on the Home page and the appropriate items in the pop-up menu. The same way, as for Sign Out tasks, you can use the New > Scheduled Lock Session Task item in the pop-up menu of the Network or the All Machines view.

When scheduling a task, you can provide the operation configuration options, and specify a set of Machines to operate. Once you are done with configuring the task, press Schedule for the task to be put on schedule. The scheduled task will be added to the Scheduling area. A scheduled task is executed automatically when its start time comes. Remote Shutdown stores the results for all runs of such a task, and you can review all of them in the Execution Results view.